Huntington weather every day!

Friday, May 6, 2016: Spring Ephemerals

Greetings Weather Blog friends and followers! You may have wondered where I’ve been for the past month or so. I was on an extended trip that took my recently retired wife, Robin, and I down to the Florida Keys and back! I’m back for a couple days before I have to head out to Ohio to help my mom move. I’ll be back around the 16th, so stay tuned!

Anyway, I thought I’d post some photos I took today. We went for a short hike up Mt. Hunger in Waterbury today (dutifully turning around at the “Trail Closed” sign above the waterfall…) I’d thought that, after being away from the Vermont woods for a month, that we’d missed the spring ephemerals. Not so! The trail up the mountain was alive with all the “usual suspects”! In places, the spring beauties covered the forest floor, and their fragrance sweetened the air! What a fine welcome back to the hills of Vermont!

Panasonic GM5, 12-32mm lens @ various lengths, various ISOs, apertures, and shutter speeds.

6 responses

  1. Gary M. Mawe

    Welcome back, John!

    Gary

    May 6, 2016 at 1:41 pm

    • Thanks Gary! Nice to be home albeit briefly as I’m headed to Ohio tomorrow for a week or so.

      May 6, 2016 at 2:42 pm

  2. Colleen Dychton

    Thanks for the great photos and for Spring Beauties! Welcome back.

    May 6, 2016 at 4:59 pm

    • Thanks Colleen! Nice to be home albeit briefly!

      May 6, 2016 at 6:19 pm

  3. Great photos! We used them to help us ID flowers in our own woods. I didn’t know about blue cohosh. Welcome back and safe travels for the next trip!

    May 8, 2016 at 8:45 am

    • Thanks Alison! I was quite happy to see all those flowers!

      May 8, 2016 at 10:34 am

Leave a Reply

